Avocado Chocolate Truffles


You will need:
Dark chocolate – 1 cup (I mixed 3/4 cups un-sweetend dark chocolate with 1/4 cup semi-sweetened dark chocolate to avoid adding sugar)
Avocado – 1 small avocado or a half a large avocado (mashed)
Vanilla extract – 1/2 teaspoon
Cocoa powder or mixed seeds – to roll your truffles in

What is great about this recipe is the fact that nothing needs cooking or baking so you can literally do it in 10 minutes, wait about 20-30 minutes (watch an episode of something, work out, go for a walk) and then eat your chocolate truffles.

First of all, melt the chocolate. In a bowl, mash your avocado (make sure to mash it well so that no clumps remain). Combine the chocolate and avocado and mix well. Keep mixing until it becomes really nice and creamy, and then add the vanilla extract. I didn’t have cocoa powder at home so I used mixed seeds which I added both to the creamy mixture and then later rolled my truffles in (which is probably what I’m going to do forever seeing as I often choke on the cocoa powder!). Once your mixture is done, put the bowl into the fridge and wait for the chocolate to harden. I waited about 30 minutes – by then, the chocolate was just hard enough for me to scoop it with a spoon.

Once your mixture looks ready, use a spoon to take some of the chocolate-avo mixture and start rolling it in your hands. Make it into a ball, then roll that in your cocoa powder or mixed seeds. Do this until you have a nice set of chocolate truffles and you’re done!

photo 1  photo 3

I put mine in a glass container and kept them in the fridge. I kept them for just under a week.
Happy Sunday from my truffles to yours.

☼ ☀ J

Leave a comment